PDA

View Full Version : Working in a large, untreated room - story first

jason baliban
May 26th, 2011, 01:14 AM
This past weekend I packed up my stuff and headed to a friends fathers office space. He is a lawyer and getting out of the practice. The office is a an old church, being a hobbyist, I thought it would be fun to set up some stuff.

I headed over with a friend and a crappy drum set. We started bringing equip in the doors and my friends fathers eyes lit up like a little kid. Every new piece of equipment that I set up his eyes got bigger.

We showed up at 3pm and he had to leave by 4 so he didnt get a chance to see everything set up. The next morning he was there bright and early, just as we were ready for the first drum take. The drummer played for a few minutes and received a call that he had to leave. So after 8 hours of setup, he recorded 15 minutes of drums. I was bummed but i appreciated him lending his set and his efforts (drums are not his primary instrument).

As we were tearing down, the father asked if we could meet after we were done tearing down.

"Jason, I had so much fun watching this, would you like to see if we can record more here?"

YES!!!

So here are my questions.

The room is 50'x30' and 14' high. The floor is wood, the walls are stone and ceiling is probly a metal of some type.

Going forward, how would you go about recording in this space as far as controlling the reverb? I cannot treat the walls or ceiling so i am left to using mobile gobos to try to control things.

Where would you start putting the gobos?

Where would you put the control desk?

where would you first start in placement of the drumset?

Any other ideas?

I know all of these things will require listening and experimentation, i was just wondering if there was a place that you would start?

Here are some pictures of the room...
http://www.facebook.com/#!/media/set/?set=a.212495172116098.57639.201839383181677