Ducked in here to avoid the paparazzi no, I'm not bitter....really I'm not
    Join Date Sep 2008
    Posts 4
    Rep Power 134217847

Default Orchestral mixing advice (also Creating Depth + Separation in ANY Mix)

Hi Charles
    I am a student and compose classical symphonic music. I really enjoyed your MILAR and was looking for some advices at mixing orchestral pieces. I work entirely in midi using libraries (EWQL Platinum pro xp, Gold pro xp, Vienna Cube Pro and Nuendo as sequencer)

Actually for example, i find brass instrument to be problematic in the mix as they eat big energy and have difficulties to place it far/near. As for the string, when i work with fast "tempo", i find that i loose transients and so on.

I was wondering if there is a guide or books for mixing large symphonic orchestra but every advice from you or other wombers is very appreciated.

I uploaded something that i'm working at. http://thewombforums.com/showthread....965#post177965

Thanks and sorry for the poor english.
    Last edited by aka70; February 1st, 2009 at 04:17 PM.
    Join Date Nov 2006
    Location Songwriter Gulch
    Posts 10,132
    Rep Power 536871376

Default Re: Orchestral mixing advice

I fear you may have bit off the one thing MIDI can't really handle very well, at least that I've ever heard.

It can be amazingly convincing for simple pop music arrangements and for string pads but most orchestral recordings are based on a simple microphone pair over the conductor's head. Then "sweetening" section mikes are brought in and out only to clarify any melody lines that weren't played quite loud enough to balance with the rest of the orchestra.

Moving things front to back is largely a matter of long pre-delays for up front and shorter for further back. Most reverb devices also have way too much early reflection fuzz that needs to be turned down or off.
    Bob's room 615 562-4346
    Georgetown Masters 615 254-3233
    Interview