Thread: Using optical on a Motu with a Profire

Results 1 to 6 of 6

  1. #1
    turns Frailing and clawhammer into erotic art Suspiciously good at decorating
    Join Date Oct 2008
    Location New York
    Posts 167
    Rep Power 536870991

    Default Using optical on a Motu with a Profire

    I have a Profire 2626 and a Moto 828.

    Can I use the Optical input of the Profire to use the Motu as another set of converters for Pro Tools? It seems like it shows up in the I/O dialogue, but I can't seem to get it to work. Any advice?
    twitter.com/beatavenger
  2. #2
    Former burger flipper turned Alshi expert Injured playing co-ed dodgeball
    Join Date Nov 2006
    Location Sarasota, Florida
    Posts 1,065
    Rep Power 536871044

    Default Re: Using optical on a Motu with a Profire

    I'm not familiar with any of those boxes but here is a guideline.

    If it says Adat (8 channel) optical on both it will work, if it says S/Pdif (2 channel) optical on both it will work. The cable is essentially the same but the format is not.

    I have never used T/dif.

    Optical connections have a red light coming out of the outputs, but not the inputs. Sorry if that's too obvious. If all else fails then re-boot your interface then your computer & try again, but I never have a problem 'hot-plugging' adat.
  3. #3
    Garden variety weasel...has ripped flesh. Prom Queen
    Join Date Mar 2008
    Location Good ol' Germany
    Posts 511
    Rep Power 536871010

    Default Re: Using optical on a Motu with a Profire

    Open the Control Panel Application and activate the ADAT ports.
    “Do you know what I hate about computers? The problem with computers is that there is not enough Africa in them.”

    Brian Eno, May 1995
  4. #4
    turns Frailing and clawhammer into erotic art Suspiciously good at decorating
    Join Date Oct 2008
    Location New York
    Posts 167
    Rep Power 536870991

    Default Re: Using optical on a Motu with a Profire

    In the Motu or M-Audio software?
    twitter.com/beatavenger
  5. #5
    Garden variety weasel...has ripped flesh. Prom Queen
    Join Date Mar 2008
    Location Good ol' Germany
    Posts 511
    Rep Power 536871010

    Default Re: Using optical on a Motu with a Profire

    M-Audio of course.
    “Do you know what I hate about computers? The problem with computers is that there is not enough Africa in them.”

    Brian Eno, May 1995
  6. #6
    turns Frailing and clawhammer into erotic art Suspiciously good at decorating
    Join Date Oct 2008
    Location New York
    Posts 167
    Rep Power 536870991

    Default Re: Using optical on a Motu with a Profire

    See I've done that, and the Optical Ports show up white in PT now, but I'm not getting any signal still.
    twitter.com/beatavenger

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts