Thread: What should raw guitar sound like?

Ducked in here to avoid the paparazzi Slippy's codpiece...ewwww.
    Join Date Oct 2013
    Posts 15
    Rep Power 46

Default What should raw guitar sound like?

Heya, I was advised to post here by a member of gearslutz, and I'm hoping to get a response from Mixie or Slippy, but of course anybody is welcome to critique. Also, I'm confused if this belongs here, or in "Zen and the Art of Mixing"

I'm a live sound engineer of 2 years, trained at an audio engineering tech school, so I have a good foundation, but of course I am extremely green.

I've recently started building a home studio for my own music, nothing special. And after tracking one of my songs I've found myself unimpressed with the quality. I do not know if it's the quality of the raw guitar recordings that's so poor, as well as a bad mix, or if the recording is fine and the mix is just terrible haha.

I'm hoping to get some feedback and mixing critique. For the most part I have a general idea of what I want the mixed guitar track to sound like, but I'm unaware of what a good starting point is when recording, and what sound I should be expecting from a raw guitar track that can sound fantastic with good ears and mixing.

What I'm recording is hard-rock/modern-rock. Punchy, heavy, and aggressive. And currently the mix is very dry and brittle sounding, the guitars seem to lack that nice smooth yet heavy sound you hear in a lot of quality recordings.

To record guitar I have an sm57 going into an mbox 3 into Pro Tools 10. KRK Rokit 6" monitors.

I've attached a short clip of the raw guitar, tell me what you think of it's quality. I recorded it with an on-axis sm57, about 2 feet away from a 2x10 cabinet, about 1 inch off dead center between both speakers. Cone level of speakers.

I'll also attach the roughly mixed song for you to reference, to get an idea of what I'm going for to help influence your advice. Any and all critique is welcome, iron sharpens iron.