Thread: Yosemite Released

Results 1 to 20 of 27

  1. #1
    Bovine Scatologist Loves British 'Cuisine'
    Join Date Dec 2006
    Location In my happy place!
    Posts 1,630
    Rep Power 536871091

    Sushi Yosemite Released

    Just in case you may not have heard the news.

    Although I am more than sure that Logic works with Yosemite, I'm not sure most audio drivers are ready. I'm going to wait until I am sure that Universal Audio has either said that their drivers work with Yosemite, or have introduced an update.

    Ironically, MOTU released their updated drivers yesterday... as soon as I stopped using their audio gear.

    Some of Yosemite's window quirks may take getting used to, such as their trading the maximize in for full screen. This might prove to be a pain in the ass to me trying to switch from Logic to UA's Console.

    jord
    Real guitar heroes play real guitars!!

    Jordan%20L.%20Chilcott
  2. #2
    In a world of ones and zeros...this one's the latter. Porn Star...hung like Saddam!
    Join Date Aug 2007
    Location Key West, FL
    Posts 575
    Rep Power 536871048

    Default Re: Yosemite Released

    I upgraded since I don't do professional work. The Apogee Maestro software (using a Duet for ipad/mac) behaves a little strangely, displaying the "Instrument 2" icon when starting and quitting Logic, and "Microphone 1" when loading a project.

    Also, I'm getting synchronization errors in Waves License Center. I'll keep you guys updated when/if it gets resolved.
  3. #3
    Rep point slut. Thinks Ringo's wife is a famous Classical Composer
    Join Date Apr 2014
    Posts 64
    Rep Power 33554509

    Default Re: Yosemite Released

    I upgraded since I don't do professional work. The Apogee Maestro software (using a Duet for ipad/mac) behaves a little strangely, displaying the "Instrument 2" icon when starting and quitting Logic, and "Microphone 1" when loading a project.

    Also, I'm getting synchronization errors in Waves License Center. I'll keep you guys updated when/if it gets resolved.
    Thanks for the heads up. I never update right away but the heads up is still nice. Let us know how your other issues resolve.
  4. #4
    Famous Celebuskank Former African Dictator
    Join Date Nov 2011
    Location Charlotte, NC
    Posts 2,159
    Rep Power 536871049

    Default Re: Yosemite Released

    Sitting on my utility laptop right now. I may just go ahead and update this one as a do nothing on it of any import and my daughter appears to have not been gentlest of user. :-/

    I'll run Logic on it occasionally when I'm recording my drum kit practice progress! lol
    Mike
  5. #5
    Bovine Scatologist Loves British 'Cuisine'
    Join Date Dec 2006
    Location In my happy place!
    Posts 1,630
    Rep Power 536871091

    Default Re: Yosemite Released

    If you're running nothing but Logic, you'll probably be okay. It's everything else that is the problem. I've heard issues of people experiencing various graphic issues with non Apple stuff, like Komplete and UA's Console app.

    This is the one time I wait to upgrade an Apple product.

    jord
    Real guitar heroes play real guitars!!

    Jordan%20L.%20Chilcott
  6. #6
    Famous Celebuskank Former African Dictator
    Join Date Nov 2011
    Location Charlotte, NC
    Posts 2,159
    Rep Power 536871049

    Default Re: Yosemite Released

    Well, besides the crappy typing, the only thing that gives me pause is that I run an Apogee Duet at the house. Other than that I can get by with nothing but Logic on this machine.

    At least get used to the operating system.
    Mike
  7. #7
    Quantum Psychic Thinks pizza is a meal
    Join Date Dec 2006
    Posts 238
    Rep Power 251658483

    Default Re: Yosemite Released

    Well, besides the crappy typing, the only thing that gives me pause is that I run an Apogee Duet at the house. Other than that I can get by with nothing but Logic on this machine.

    At least get used to the operating system.
    The Duet runs fine in Yosemite. I've been using Yosemite betas for a few months and Duet is better with Yosemite than with Mavericks. I had distortion issues on the Duet in QuickTime, iTunes video, and some web videos. No problems with Yosemite.
  8. #8
    Famous Celebuskank Former African Dictator
    Join Date Nov 2011
    Location Charlotte, NC
    Posts 2,159
    Rep Power 536871049

    Default Re: Yosemite Released

    Awesome, thanks!
    Mike
  9. #9
    Being Over There Now Retired phone sex worker... no more hang-ups!
    Join Date Nov 2006
    Location here I am, you're looking at m
    Posts 3,622
    Rep Power 536871159

    Default Re: Yosemite Released

    I will mention this as an aside: my upgrade to Mavericks (yes I know this is a thread about Yosemite, bear with me) on an '03 Mini has not gone as smoothly as I'd hoped. Apps take forever to open, beach balls flying like I was at a Jethro Tull concert.

    The fix for it seems to be to add more RAM, from what I've seen on the Apple boards. The 4GB in my Mini pretty much gets eaten by the OS and then it takes a chunk of my system drive to swap into and out of. And as soon as the check clears I intend to put that theory to the test.

    So, just sayin, you might want to build RAM into your budget if you're thinking about upgrading to Yosemite. Couldn't hurt, may even help.
  10. #10
    In a world of ones and zeros...this one's the latter. Porn Star...hung like Saddam!
    Join Date Aug 2007
    Location Key West, FL
    Posts 575
    Rep Power 536871048

    Default Re: Yosemite Released

    Yeah, I got frustrated with the slow performance of Yosemite on my late 2012 mini, so I went back to Mavericks.
  11. #11
    Being Over There Now Retired phone sex worker... no more hang-ups!
    Join Date Nov 2006
    Location here I am, you're looking at m
    Posts 3,622
    Rep Power 536871159

    Default Re: Yosemite Released

    Yeah, I got frustrated with the slow performance of Yosemite on my late 2012 mini, so I went back to Mavericks.
    And shh brings up another point: don't do as I did and upgrade to Yosemite—or Mavericks, if you're still on Mountain Lion—without having a Time Machine backup (as he seems to have had in order to revert back to Mavericks at all). I decided to fly by the seat of my pants and perform the upgrade before I installed the Time Machine drive.

    You'd think I would have known better, being a former IT drone, but for reasons I can't recall now I was in a bit of a hurry. The listless performance of Mavericks with only 4GB of RAM has more than made up for my initial haste, whatever its cause.

    You may now point your fingers at me and laugh.
  12. #12
    Quantum Psychic Thinks pizza is a meal
    Join Date Dec 2006
    Posts 238
    Rep Power 251658483

    Default Re: Yosemite Released

    Yeah, I got frustrated with the slow performance of Yosemite on my late 2012 mini, so I went back to Mavericks.
    Yosemite is plenty fast on my early 2011 Macbook Pro. Even the betas were as fast as Mavericks.
  13. #13
    In a world of ones and zeros...this one's the latter. Porn Star...hung like Saddam!
    Join Date Aug 2007
    Location Key West, FL
    Posts 575
    Rep Power 536871048

    Default Re: Yosemite Released

    Shrug, I was dissatisfied with simple things like putzing around in Safari. I'm sure it will work out fine in the end, but like Fulcrum said, I know better than to upgrade right away and did it anyway since I had little to lose other than the time to get the machine back to normal.

    I also upgraded to iOS8 from iOS6 for my iPhone 4s (I was really interested in making phone calls from the computer). This so far has been a pain in the ass as well...the phone is clearly not equipped to run the operating system quickly and smoothly, and there is no easy way to go back.

    Live & Learn, as usual.
  14. #14
    Bovine Scatologist Loves British 'Cuisine'
    Join Date Dec 2006
    Location In my happy place!
    Posts 1,630
    Rep Power 536871091

    Default Re: Yosemite Released

    Thought I'd do the night of the living threads on this one.

    After observing everyone else using Yosemite, I finally decided it was time to pull the trigger on Yosemite and I upgraded both my machines tonight. Aside from the known graphic glitches in the UAD software, all of my music software and plug-ins seem to work without any real functionality issues. Things definitely feel snappier.

    Logic is working without any issues, of course.
    Real guitar heroes play real guitars!!

    Jordan%20L.%20Chilcott
  15. #15
    Famous Celebuskank Former African Dictator
    Join Date Nov 2011
    Location Charlotte, NC
    Posts 2,159
    Rep Power 536871049

    Default Re: Yosemite Released

    Thought I'd do the night of the living threads on this one.

    After observing everyone else using Yosemite, I finally decided it was time to pull the trigger on Yosemite and I upgraded both my machines tonight. Aside from the known graphic glitches in the UAD software, all of my music software and plug-ins seem to work without any real functionality issues. Things definitely feel snappier.

    Logic is working without any issues, of course.
    Awesome! Please let us know about performance. I'm under the impression that things aren't so hot under Mavericks, but I'm not sure I've seen it myself. Of course things could always be better!
    Mike
  16. #16
    Being Over There Now Retired phone sex worker... no more hang-ups!
    Join Date Nov 2006
    Location here I am, you're looking at m
    Posts 3,622
    Rep Power 536871159

    Default Re: Yosemite Released

    you might want to build RAM into your budget if you're thinking about upgrading to Yosemite. Couldn't hurt, may even help.
    Update, as long as we're Frankensteining old threads: for Christmas, my brother and his family got me 16GB of laptop memory for my Mac Mini. I installed it almost before I had it out of the hermetically sealed packaging.

    A quick look at Activity Monitor before the install showed that of the 4GB of RAM then inside the machine, the OS was using about 3.5GB of it.. leaving the remaining half a gig for everything else. (Not talking about the swap file here; I never really saw any activity on that front. Page-ins and page-outs, yeah. Swap usage: squadooche.) After the install (yes, it did recognize the new cards), the OS was using about 7GB. So as a percentage of memory used, I went from like 87.5% down to about half that, and free space shot up from 12% up to 56%.

    Night. And. Day.

    Apps now open faster, no more out of memory messages, Finder windows open in under a second where they'd taken about 5–10 before. My current mixes are fun to tweak again for the first time since I unceremoniously ditched Snow Leopard.

    So I believe I proved the theory of More RAM = Good to my own satisfaction at least.. and offer it again as a prescriptive to those considering the Yosemite upgrade (I'm not). I can't imagine Yosemite wouldn't want to eat as much of your confuser's mind as it possibly can get its mouth around.
  17. #17
    In a world of ones and zeros...this one's the latter. Breast reduction surgery candidate
    Join Date Sep 2009
    Posts 567
    Rep Power 536871023

    Default Re: Yosemite Released

    I started to upgrade last night on my mac mini and it wanted my C.C. info for I-TUNES, whats up with that?
    It said free upgrade and I don't buy tune off I-Tunes I only but disk's.
    BLAST PAD Inventor just one invention among others.
    A CHARTER MEMBER OF THE 500 FORMAT, MAFIA
    it is easy to sound as though one was endowed with great intelligence, whilst speaking amongst a crowd of total morons
    Pan60 Facebook
    Pan Panhead Facebook
    www.pan60.com
  18. #18
    Join Date Apr 2007
    Location nc
    Posts 1,502
    Rep Power 536871083

    Default Re: Yosemite Released

    It's free, but you need an iTunes account to get it. iTunes is just the delivery system. It's assumed that everyone with a Mac has I tunes.



    Thinking about taking the plunge my self. I'm still on 10.7.5, and I haven't heard any horror stories about Yosemite and protools.
    Have I?
    I'm a fan of cheese!
  19. #19
    Ducked in here to avoid the paparazzi Dated Paris Hilton before she was a tramp!
    Join Date Nov 2014
    Location Phoenix, AZ
    Posts 28
    Rep Power 32

    Default Re: Yosemite Released

    Actually, the Yosemite update was quite the debacle for lots of people. The only version of Pro Tools that is qualified by Avid to work on Yosemite is 11.3, which just got released a week or two ago. There were plenty of horror stories for PT10 users who leisurely hit the "update" button in Software Update, only to find that they were dead in the water (and many foolishly didn't do an image backup to revert to before updating). I believe Avid is recommended a clean OS install vs. updating on top of whatever you have now.

    Yosemite appears to be quite an overhaul and won't play with older drivers and software as well as other OSX updates in recent years. If you aren't on Pro Tools 11 yet, don't even think about it. Check with the manufacturers of all hardware you have to make sure there are updated drivers and official support.
  20. #20
    Bovine Scatologist Loves British 'Cuisine'
    Join Date Dec 2006
    Location In my happy place!
    Posts 1,630
    Rep Power 536871091

    Default Re: Yosemite Released

    Considering this is a Logic forum, Avid is not a real issue here, unless of course you're using their CoreAudio drivers.

    Only quirk I've seen in Logic so far are some AU's are reverting back to default states (particularly NI's plug-ins). Mind you, when I save them as presets, they seem to stick.

    Found a bit of resistance with my UAD Apollo tonight, but it may be more of a cache cleaning issue.

    And the graphics issues seem to extend a lot further than UAD stuff. I'm seeing it in Safari and even in Logic itself.

    jord
    Real guitar heroes play real guitars!!

    Jordan%20L.%20Chilcott

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts