Thread: FX - Absolute vs relative option

Results 1 to 8 of 8

  1. #1
    Middle Handicapper...short game needs work Real purdy mouth
    Join Date Nov 2006
    Location the music room
    Posts 1,205
    Rep Power 536871078

    Default FX - Absolute vs relative option

    Hi all

    I was chatting with my friend again, who's new to Logic, and he told me there was an option in the delay for "absolute" or "relative"

    Could anyone shed some light on this for me?

    thanks in advance
    wtf do I know...I hit mixes with sticks
  2. #2
    Join Date Nov 2006
    Location Sweden
    Posts 14,273
    Rep Power 536871513

    Default Re: FX - Absolute vs relative option

    Did your friend mention exactly where he found this option?


    otek
    "Tube color is not the 'thing'. Why would the most linear amplifying device have a color?" - Jonte Knif
  3. #3
    Middle Handicapper...short game needs work Real purdy mouth
    Join Date Nov 2006
    Location the music room
    Posts 1,205
    Rep Power 536871078

    Default Re: FX - Absolute vs relative option

    He said it was on a delay...I'll check with him but as he has no 3rd party plugs I'm going to assume it's on one of logic's delay plugs...but let me confirm and get back to you
    wtf do I know...I hit mixes with sticks
  4. #4
    Bovine Scatologist Loves British 'Cuisine'
    Join Date Dec 2006
    Location In my happy place!
    Posts 1,630
    Rep Power 536871090

    Default Re: FX - Absolute vs relative option

    Yeah, this sounds very ambiguous. I'm wondering if he's referring more to automation, as there is a relative and trim function now in there.

    jord
    Real guitar heroes play real guitars!!

    Jordan%20L.%20Chilcott
  5. #5
    Little River Band on The Run Internet Meme
    Join Date Nov 2006
    Location State of Denial
    Posts 6,407
    Rep Power 536871251

    Default Re: FX - Absolute vs relative option

    To me it sounds like tempo sync or time based. Just a second guess pulled out of a rabbit hole.

    Sorry.
  6. #6
    Join Date Nov 2006
    Location Sweden
    Posts 14,273
    Rep Power 536871513

    Default Re: FX - Absolute vs relative option

    To me it sounds like tempo sync or time based.
    That was my initial thought as well, except none of the Logic delays (caveat: I'm still in 9) uses the terms "absolute" or "relative" on any of their controls.

    In PT, absolute/relative grid mode dictates how a region relates to the grid - in absolute mode, the start of the region always snaps to the grid, whereas in relative mode, the region always retains its relative position to the grid regardless of start point. I wonder if this might be something similar?


    otek
    "Tube color is not the 'thing'. Why would the most linear amplifying device have a color?" - Jonte Knif
  7. #7
    Bovine Scatologist Loves British 'Cuisine'
    Join Date Dec 2006
    Location In my happy place!
    Posts 1,630
    Rep Power 536871090

    Default Re: FX - Absolute vs relative option

    I love ambiguity. It is probably why I'm forced to deal with it on a daily basis at work. :twisted:

    jord

    Sent from my Z10 using Tapatalk
    Real guitar heroes play real guitars!!

    Jordan%20L.%20Chilcott
  8. #8
    Middle Handicapper...short game needs work Real purdy mouth
    Join Date Nov 2006
    Location the music room
    Posts 1,205
    Rep Power 536871078

    Default Re: FX - Absolute vs relative option

    It was in the automation of the sends - when choosing automation modes...my apologies.

    That said the online manual explains the function
    wtf do I know...I hit mixes with sticks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts