Thread: Facing the upgrade path...

Astrological sign is "Feces"! Prefers rhythm cowbell to lead
    Join Date Nov 2006
    Location NC
    Posts 383
    Rep Power 536871052

Default Facing the upgrade path...

I've become resigned to the fact that I may have to migrate over to Logic X from a long run using Logic 8. I spent a good many years jumping through hoops with my previous recording system making old hardware work with newer software (DNafe knows what I'm talking about here, Ensonique PARIS) and I'm just not feeling interested in spending the time or brain power on how to continue using Logic 8 with a modern MacBookPro running Yosemite. I have considered booting Snow Leopard from an external drive and just booting to that when I work on music, but I don't know if I want to be weighed down by all that.

I'm not a professional, and my lively hood does not hinge on the use of music production tools. I am a musician at best, and a hobbyist at worst.

Any advise? Stick with 8? Upgrade? What are the challenges I'll face going from 8 to X?

Thanks for taking the time to read all that.
    Little River Band on The Run Internet Meme
    Join Date Nov 2006
    Location State of Denial
    Posts 6,407
    Rep Power 536871253

Default Re: Facing the upgrade path...

I have no Logic experience whatsoever but I know by heart that workarounds kill creativity. Bite the bullet. Pay the price.
    Join Date Nov 2006
    Location NC
    Posts 383
    Rep Power 536871052

I have no Logic experience whatsoever but I know by heart that workarounds kill creativity. Bite the bullet. Pay the price.
    Thanks sir. I tend to agree fully.
    Join Date Nov 2006
    Location Sweden
    Posts 14,275
    Rep Power 536871515

There's a (clown)face I haven't seen in a while.

And I do think you should go through the upgrade. Neither Logic 8 or Snow Leopard can be considered among Apple's finer moments.

otek