Join Date Jan 2015
    Location Northern Colorado
    Posts 972
    Rep Power 536870974

Default Should you copyright before it get's played live?

I was curious as to how important (if at all) it was to make sure you had copyrights on a song before you played it out live.

I just started playing with some guys last month. The set list is their first album and a couple of covers. I suggested rather than adding a couple more covers to fill out a longer set, throw in a couple of the new songs to see what kind of reaction they get. They are working on another album, so they've got a handful decent ones to chose from.
    You'd have thought I asked them to jump off a building ... and the reason was they didn't have copyrights on the songs yet. That was a huge risk in their mind.

Their audiences right now are their moms, wives and the fairly disinterested bartender. I couldn't have imagined that being an issue. But I didn't know one way or the other so I said okay and moved along.
    It struck me as odd. Seemed really unlikely to be an issue, but maybe there's something to it? I was wondering what you guys thought.

-r
    Sign Here

X________________________________________________
    Join Date Jan 2015
    Posts 972
    Rep Power 536870974

Default Re: Should you copyright before it get's played live?

I should add that I understand you own the rights to that song the moment you create it. This is more about the worry to have it registered with the .gov
    Should you be worried about getting that done before you put a song into your set.

-r
    Sign Here

Join Date Sep 2009
    Location Quake City
    Posts 11,777
    Rep Power 536871398

Where would it be being played? What type and size venues? What are the odds of a video of the performance showing up on Youtube or a local TV broadcast?
    http://www.johnnyoklahoma.com/

Originally Posted by Bob Ohlsson