Thread: Signal flow question...

Results 1 to 6 of 6

  1. #1
    goes looking for thin ice to walk on Not as sentimental as those other silly valentines.
    Join Date Sep 2013
    Posts 81
    Rep Power 0

    Default Signal flow question...

    How would you take the digital signal from four Avid HD i/o units and send it to four Crane Song Avocate 2a's?

    With lightpipe/spdif Is it 2 stems pr box?

    Hd i/o 1 spdif -> Avocet 1
    Hd i/o 2 spdif -> Avocet 2
    Hd i/o 3 spdif -> Avocet 3
    Hd i/o 4 spdif -> Avocet 4

    or-

    Hd i/o 4 (with a digital card) 8x outputs -> Avocet 1, 2, 3, 4?

    Do you just create 8 mono buses in PT and assign them to each digital out?

    I'm wanting to monitor digital so I can make the monitoring chain hit the D/A in the Avocet...

    How do you do it?
    Thanks
    Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	hdrear.jpg 
Views:	33 
Size:	19.5 KB 
ID:	13218  

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	asdfasdfasdf.jpg 
Views:	28 
Size:	20.6 KB 
ID:	13219  

    Last edited by jkuehlin; March 18th, 2016 at 05:04 AM.
  2. #2
    Highway to Hell is for Children Area 51 gardener
    Join Date Nov 2006
    Posts 5,347
    Rep Power 536871217

    Default Re: Signal flow question...

    For what reason do you need multiple Avocet's?
    IMO a single device is needed for dealing with monitoring, no?
    When in doubt, mumble!

    EVERYTHING SOUNDS LIKE SHIT IF YA LISTEN LONG AND HARD ENOUGH.
  3. #3
    Little River Band on The Run Internet Meme
    Join Date Nov 2006
    Location State of Denial
    Posts 6,407
    Rep Power 536871252

    Default Re: Signal flow question...

    Four are needed to achieve 7.1. Here's the manual. I don't have coffee enough in the bloodstream to open it.
  4. #4
    goes looking for thin ice to walk on Not as sentimental as those other silly valentines.
    Join Date Sep 2013
    Posts 81
    Rep Power 0

    Default Re: Signal flow question...

    Four are needed to achieve 7.1. Here's the manual. I don't have coffee enough in the bloodstream to open it.
    I don't see anything in there about the actual 7.1 signal chain...I could be missing it, or just a noob, but I don't see anything about the actual hookup. I'm having some trouble reading that schematic :( Sorry to bother you guys with this, but if anyone has a Avocet setup I would love some quickstart tips
  5. #5
    Plays in Winger cover band Enjoys scratching self too much
    Join Date Sep 2007
    Location Toronto, cananda
    Posts 712
    Rep Power 536871052

    Default Re: Signal flow question...

    I don't see anything in there about the actual 7.1 signal chain...I could be missing it, or just a noob, but I don't see anything about the actual hookup. I'm having some trouble reading that schematic :( Sorry to bother you guys with this, but if anyone has a Avocet setup I would love some quickstart tips
    well if its just stereo, i don't see why you can't just use either the AES or optical out into the avocet. just have to do some fuckin around in your I/O setup. I'm not using PT anymore, so my memory is a little fuzzy.
  6. #6
    Little River Band on The Run Internet Meme
    Join Date Nov 2006
    Location State of Denial
    Posts 6,407
    Rep Power 536871252

    Default Re: Signal flow question...

    If it isn't there maybe my best teaching was that a question could be answered in a minute by consulting the web based information retrieval system. I bet Cranesong would be delighted to take up where I left if the answer wasn't in there.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts