Thread: Avid or Adobe?

goes looking for thin ice to walk on Not as sentimental as those other silly valentines.
    Join Date Sep 2013
    Posts 81
    Rep Power 0

Default Avid or Adobe?

Hey U other post guys

Avid, Adobe, OWC, Drobo....Anyone else who we haven't even heard of.

Pros/cons for your studios multi-station SAN based workflows?

Thoughts?
    Plays in Winger cover band Enjoys scratching self too much
    Join Date Apr 2008
    Location Montreal, Canada
    Posts 715
    Rep Power 536871045

Default Re: Avid or Adobe?

Blackmagic Design just acquired Fairlight. Things will get interesting...

P.S. Now, I'm not really an expert, but I was under the impression that Avid has far more presence in the pro market than Adobe? I believe Adobe is more used by independents, but doesn't have the infrastructure Avid has. They produce no hardware, so...
    Join Date May 2015
    Location United States
    Posts 2
    Rep Power 26

Hey U other post guys

Avid, Adobe, OWC, Drobo....Anyone else who we haven't even heard of.

Pros/cons for your studios multi-station SAN based workflows?

Thoughts?
    I think adobe is best as compared to others. Lots of Adobe work for Infographics can be seen on many sites like WIS .
    goes looking for thin ice to walk on Not as sentimental as those other silly valentines.
    Join Date Sep 2013
    Posts 81
    Rep Power 0

I think adobe is best as compared to others. Lots of Adobe work for Infographics can be seen on many sites like WIS .
    I'm not completely sure what the big differences are. Or how avid's offers a better handshake with their hardware. Still working though this.
    Join Date Nov 2006
    Location Songwriter Gulch
    Posts 10,132
    Rep Power 536871376

Media Composer was the first video editing application to become a real industry standard. Because Media Composer was very expensive and tied to hardware, it was/is mostly used by employees.