Thread: I was an Internet drummer...

Junior assistant coffee maker trainee ACME recording engineer...just add water.
    Join Date Nov 2006
    Location Surrounded by morons
    Posts 850
    Rep Power 536871067

Default I was an Internet drummer...

...and I had to become a better musician to make it work

(true confessions and broad discussion about playing drums on CAPE (or online collaborations in general))

And before I forget - - thanks so much to Goes211 for the groovy graphic header! I always wanted a reso head on my bass drum with my name on it. Makes me feel all moist-pro ! And thanks, thanks, thanks for all the work the entire group of forum honchos and honchitas have done over time to make this place such a cornycopeya of info.

The Initial Setup and Disclaimer:

The other day I was talking with my friend about the goings-on at CAPE and how his teamís song was coming together versus my team. I was struck with the need to capture what I had learned about the process through several of these shindigs, and I realized I wanted to impart some knowledge about the role of drummers in CAPE in order to help others who may have struggled with or will struggle with the concept in the future.

To be clear - I have no delusions about holding myself up as the shining example for all to aspire to. If anything, I have a pretty clear picture that there are a number of other drummers that haunt this place who can and will take me to school in a New York minute (which is about the same as a standard minute, but with more attitude). My understanding of CAPE and what role a drummer plays isnít the entire reality and Iíd hope that others can chime in to help me make this a comprehensive primer on drums and drumming CAPE.

So Iím starting a series of posts with the intention of editing and refining the information as others add to the knowledge.

The INTRO