Mixerman Radio Show Slipperman's Recording Distorted Guitars From Hell Radio CAPE The Best of Charles Dye Aadry's and Dwoz's Rotation Station
Mixerman's Diaries
Occupy by when?!?!, it's CAPE 10? I'm not ready!!!!!! Zen & Tao of Producing w/The Saint! Zen & Tao of Producing w/Ken Scott! Zen, The Blood Red Vampire Forum, Mwahahahaha!!!

Go Back   The Womb > The Womb Network > DAW Zone - Logic

DAW Zone - Logic Making Logic your weapon of choice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 8th, 2012, 05:12 AM
pounce's Avatar
pounce pounce is offline
Buster
Lonely forest ranger
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bexley, OH
Posts: 2,235
Rep Power: 536871080
pounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these parts
Send a message via Skype™ to pounce
Default Logic input crackles

Funny issue - any thoughts welcome.

Pretty powerful Mac pro, ton of ram, current version of logic and lion. I was setting things up so I had a good default midi template for composing with real synths. I had switched to input monitoring. After a few minutes I would get crackly sounds on the audio input monitoring. When I adjusted the buffer (either up OR down) it would be fine again for a while and then crackles again. Odd that it would always start fine and then crackles would appear. Since adjusting the buffer would fix it for awhile it must be related to that.

So if anyone wants to point me in the right direction that would be cool. When I can dig into this again I want to have this template all happy for the sake of any composing that I'm threatening to do.
__________________
cheers,

paul
www.paperstreetaudio.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 8th, 2012, 01:30 PM
mmcginnis's Avatar
mmcginnis mmcginnis is offline
American Idol Idiot
Finnish Line Dancer
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,707
Rep Power: 536871001
mmcginnis is infamous around these partsmmcginnis is infamous around these partsmmcginnis is infamous around these partsmmcginnis is infamous around these partsmmcginnis is infamous around these partsmmcginnis is infamous around these partsmmcginnis is infamous around these partsmmcginnis is infamous around these partsmmcginnis is infamous around these partsmmcginnis is infamous around these partsmmcginnis is infamous around these parts
Default Re: Logic input crackles

What happens if you turn low latency monitoring on?

What's your interface and connection?

Mike
__________________
CAPE 10: Team Uprising
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 8th, 2012, 04:22 PM
Fulcrum's Avatar
Fulcrum Fulcrum is offline
Man With A Microview
Faded rockers wildlife reserve guard
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: here I am, you're looking at m
Posts: 3,537
Rep Power: 536871123
Fulcrum has disabled reputation
Default Re: Logic input crackles

I confess I'm stumped by this one. IIRC at one point you were using MOTU interfaces—are you still (or were you ever)? But I've never experienced anything like that with my Traveler unless it was at source to begin with.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 8th, 2012, 04:40 PM
CloseToTheEdge's Avatar
CloseToTheEdge CloseToTheEdge is offline
Most friends are "on the inside".
Skate America finalist
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: On the left coast
Posts: 695
Rep Power: 536871028
CloseToTheEdge is infamous around these partsCloseToTheEdge is infamous around these partsCloseToTheEdge is infamous around these partsCloseToTheEdge is infamous around these partsCloseToTheEdge is infamous around these partsCloseToTheEdge is infamous around these partsCloseToTheEdge is infamous around these partsCloseToTheEdge is infamous around these partsCloseToTheEdge is infamous around these partsCloseToTheEdge is infamous around these partsCloseToTheEdge is infamous around these parts
Default Re: Logic input crackles

I had a similar problem that was the result of running two converter units that were not syncing to a common clock. When I configured one unit to "slave" to the other units clock through the ADAT connection, all was well. I am using MOTU 8pre interfaces, but I have heard that any sort of interface will exhibit the behavior if not configured properly. Hope this helps.
__________________
ȻΘϨ₸Θ₸HɖƓ
quickanddirtyaudio.com
CAPE 10 - Team Witty Placard
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 8th, 2012, 07:07 PM
pounce's Avatar
pounce pounce is offline
Buster
Lonely forest ranger
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bexley, OH
Posts: 2,235
Rep Power: 536871080
pounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these parts
Send a message via Skype™ to pounce
Default Re: Logic input crackles

It's all metric halo interfaces.

Logic is one of the only programs I use an aggregate sound device in. DP does it's own aggregation better than core audio. Anyhow, I've been having issues with the aggregate device that I suspect are related to a bug in core audio.

Of note, my interfaces all work properly in the MIO console which is the interface control panel. Aggregate device has been funny, I suspect either because of it trying to do something with clocking or because some interfaces are hung off of FireWire cards in the Mac pro and I'm not sure that they all get recognized by the system before the aggregate audio driver is loaded. I'll keep playing with it and see.
__________________
cheers,

paul
www.paperstreetaudio.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 8th, 2012, 07:38 PM
Fulcrum's Avatar
Fulcrum Fulcrum is offline
Man With A Microview
Faded rockers wildlife reserve guard
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: here I am, you're looking at m
Posts: 3,537
Rep Power: 536871123
Fulcrum has disabled reputation
Default Re: Logic input crackles

Are you using Soundflower to aggregate the devices? Maybe check latency or buffer settings in there?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 8th, 2012, 11:26 PM
pounce's Avatar
pounce pounce is offline
Buster
Lonely forest ranger
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bexley, OH
Posts: 2,235
Rep Power: 536871080
pounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these parts
Send a message via Skype™ to pounce
Default Re: Logic input crackles

I think this might all be about the way core audio creates the aggregate devices. I'm not making use of sound flower .this doesn't happen in DP. Hmm.
__________________
cheers,

paul
www.paperstreetaudio.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 9th, 2012, 09:00 PM
mousdrvr's Avatar
mousdrvr mousdrvr is offline
Only used HGH to help team
Makes love just like a woman
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,088
Rep Power: 536871075
mousdrvr is infamous around these partsmousdrvr is infamous around these partsmousdrvr is infamous around these partsmousdrvr is infamous around these partsmousdrvr is infamous around these partsmousdrvr is infamous around these partsmousdrvr is infamous around these partsmousdrvr is infamous around these partsmousdrvr is infamous around these partsmousdrvr is infamous around these partsmousdrvr is infamous around these parts
Default Re: Logic input crackles

Quote:
Originally Posted by pounce View Post
I think this might all be about the way core audio creates the aggregate devices. I'm not making use of sound flower .this doesn't happen in DP. Hmm.

Yeah I think that's it, but I have no idea for reals.

Funny how that sound is so obviously bad bits ya don't even think to check the rest of the chain. I have NO idea what's going on. The longest treatment for me is to reset the audio drivers. I think this is why changing the buffer size helps, it forces enough variables to reset to do the job. There was a UI Button for this in 8 no? Like "reinitialize core audio" or something like that. But I can't find it now, so I just change the device to the built in interface and then back to mine and
the problem goes away for a month. Not very Geeky I know but shit is otherwise so stable I haven't been motivated to really suss it. I don't even want to get curious about it

Are you otherwise making system demands on core audio?
I do, so I expect to pay the price. But my box isn't a production box it's a collaboration box so I got so much different audio running it's not funny, Logic, iTunes, Skype, whatever my "user agents" are demanding for video and p3's . I'm actually truly impressed it's as stable as it is.


-mous
__________________

All programmers are optimists. Perhaps this modern sorcery especially attracts those who believe in happy endings and fairy god-mothers.

-Fred Brooks
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old May 10th, 2012, 11:09 PM
jord's Avatar
jord jord is offline
Bovine Scatologist
Dwayne Hoover
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In my happy place!
Posts: 1,523
Rep Power: 536871055
jord is infamous around these partsjord is infamous around these partsjord is infamous around these partsjord is infamous around these partsjord is infamous around these partsjord is infamous around these partsjord is infamous around these partsjord is infamous around these partsjord is infamous around these partsjord is infamous around these partsjord is infamous around these parts
Send a message via AIM to jord Send a message via Skype™ to jord
Sushi Re: Logic input crackles

Quote:
Originally Posted by pounce View Post
I think this might all be about the way core audio creates the aggregate devices. I'm not making use of sound flower .this doesn't happen in DP. Hmm.
If you are aggregating multiple devices, have you set one of them as a master word clock, or S/PDIF, and slaved the others to it? If not, this will produce the exact symptoms you are experiencing because the devices are running independent of each other.

jord
__________________
Real guitar heroes play real guitars!!

Jordan%20L.%20Chilcott
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old May 14th, 2012, 09:51 PM
pounce's Avatar
pounce pounce is offline
Buster
Lonely forest ranger
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bexley, OH
Posts: 2,235
Rep Power: 536871080
pounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these parts
Send a message via Skype™ to pounce
Default Re: Logic input crackles

whats odd is the the aggregation in DP works fine, and all of the interfaces are working and passing word clock properly otherwise, in the MIO control panel for instance.

One factor in play that might be relevant is that some of my interfaces are hung off of firewire cards to distribute the bandwidth in the Mac Pro. I suspect that the aggregate device driver might be having issues because of that. I cannot reliably use a core audio aggregate device right now and that sucks. Glad it's not an issue in DP.

How would one go about sending this to Apple as a bug report. It's a fully reproducible bug with aggregated devices in core audio when they are coming from multiple firewire busses. The interface otherwise are sharing clock from the master interface just fine.
__________________
cheers,

paul
www.paperstreetaudio.com
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old May 14th, 2012, 10:39 PM
Fulcrum's Avatar
Fulcrum Fulcrum is offline
Man With A Microview
Faded rockers wildlife reserve guard
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: here I am, you're looking at m
Posts: 3,537
Rep Power: 536871123
Fulcrum has disabled reputation
Default Re: Logic input crackles

Logic Pro menu => Provide Logic Pro Feedback.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old May 15th, 2012, 10:49 PM
crunch's Avatar
crunch crunch is offline
Caveman of Altamira
Enjoys scratching self too much
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Round Rock, Texas
Posts: 714
Rep Power: 536871029
crunch is infamous around these partscrunch is infamous around these partscrunch is infamous around these partscrunch is infamous around these partscrunch is infamous around these partscrunch is infamous around these partscrunch is infamous around these partscrunch is infamous around these partscrunch is infamous around these partscrunch is infamous around these partscrunch is infamous around these parts
Send a message via Skype™ to crunch
Default Re: Logic input crackles

hey fellas!
Ummm, I may be wayyyy off the mark here, janitor talking to the guys in lab coats and whatnot, but whenever I hear "crackles", as it were, it has always been, without fail, a clock issue. You might want to make something else the master and see if you still get it?

If I'm right, send us a dusty bottle of scotch.

If I'm wrong, can we at least have some malt liquor or something?

__________________
crunch

"If I had a nickel for every project that went bad I'd have a bag of nickels. Then I would use that bag of nickels to beat former band members." - blackieC

"I have a well-thought-out plan that carries minimal risk to innocent bystanders"

"REMEMBER: The air NEVER KILLED ANYBODY. It's the ground that kills ya. KEEP THOSE METERS PINNED." - slipperman


Fix your console! AnalogConsole.com Forums
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old May 16th, 2012, 12:28 AM
pounce's Avatar
pounce pounce is offline
Buster
Lonely forest ranger
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bexley, OH
Posts: 2,235
Rep Power: 536871080
pounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these parts
Send a message via Skype™ to pounce
Default Re: Logic input crackles

I could really believe it's a clock issue, but this isn't inherently with the interfaces, with their control panel, with Digital Perfomer, or with any of the interfaces when used individually. Only when core audio aggregates them, which makes me think that the core audio aggregate device is not handling clock properly in this instance. weird stuff.
__________________
cheers,

paul
www.paperstreetaudio.com
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old May 17th, 2012, 03:35 AM
pounce's Avatar
pounce pounce is offline
Buster
Lonely forest ranger
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bexley, OH
Posts: 2,235
Rep Power: 536871080
pounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these parts
Send a message via Skype™ to pounce
Default Re: Logic input crackles

oh, forgot to add the most important clue.
this used to work in snow leopard. this doesn't work in Lion.
boo.
__________________
cheers,

paul
www.paperstreetaudio.com
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old May 17th, 2012, 12:51 PM
mmcginnis's Avatar
mmcginnis mmcginnis is offline
American Idol Idiot
Finnish Line Dancer
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,707
Rep Power: 536871001
mmcginnis is infamous around these partsmmcginnis is infamous around these partsmmcginnis is infamous around these partsmmcginnis is infamous around these partsmmcginnis is infamous around these partsmmcginnis is infamous around these partsmmcginnis is infamous around these partsmmcginnis is infamous around these partsmmcginnis is infamous around these partsmmcginnis is infamous around these partsmmcginnis is infamous around these parts
Default Re: Logic input crackles

Quote:
Originally Posted by pounce View Post
oh, forgot to add the most important clue.
this used to work in snow leopard. this doesn't work in Lion.
boo.

Hmmm...maybe it's Lion? LOL


Mike
__________________
CAPE 10: Team Uprising
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old June 22nd, 2012, 02:22 AM
jord's Avatar
jord jord is offline
Bovine Scatologist
Dwayne Hoover
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In my happy place!
Posts: 1,523
Rep Power: 536871055
jord is infamous around these partsjord is infamous around these partsjord is infamous around these partsjord is infamous around these partsjord is infamous around these partsjord is infamous around these partsjord is infamous around these partsjord is infamous around these partsjord is infamous around these partsjord is infamous around these partsjord is infamous around these parts
Send a message via AIM to jord Send a message via Skype™ to jord
Sushi Re: Logic input crackles

Quote:
Originally Posted by pounce View Post
I could really believe it's a clock issue, but this isn't inherently with the interfaces, with their control panel, with Digital Perfomer, or with any of the interfaces when used individually. Only when core audio aggregates them, which makes me think that the core audio aggregate device is not handling clock properly in this instance. weird stuff.
That's the only time this will happen... and it's because you are aggregating two free running devices. That's why they need to be tied by the word clock or SP/DIF.

The fact that this didn't occur for you in earlier OS's is more luck than anything else. CoreAudio hasn't changed since Leopard, when it went to 64-bit.

jord
__________________
Real guitar heroes play real guitars!!

Jordan%20L.%20Chilcott
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old June 22nd, 2012, 01:10 PM
pounce's Avatar
pounce pounce is offline
Buster
Lonely forest ranger
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bexley, OH
Posts: 2,235
Rep Power: 536871080
pounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these parts
Send a message via Skype™ to pounce
Default Re: Logic input crackles

I'm using 5 interfaces which always have been clocked properly together. It's only the core audio aggregate device that isn't dealing with them properly. One is the word clock master and the other four are fed wc via bnc cable. This works in DP, and the MIO console for the interfaces also shows them online and properly locked to the clock. The issue is specific to core audio aggregate devices. They all work fine if selected as individual interfaces too, so I know the hardware is fine. There is some issue with how core audio is aggregating audio devices.
__________________
cheers,

paul
www.paperstreetaudio.com
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old June 23rd, 2012, 02:13 PM
jord's Avatar
jord jord is offline
Bovine Scatologist
Dwayne Hoover
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In my happy place!
Posts: 1,523
Rep Power: 536871055
jord is infamous around these partsjord is infamous around these partsjord is infamous around these partsjord is infamous around these partsjord is infamous around these partsjord is infamous around these partsjord is infamous around these partsjord is infamous around these partsjord is infamous around these partsjord is infamous around these partsjord is infamous around these parts
Send a message via AIM to jord Send a message via Skype™ to jord
Default Re: Logic input crackles

I have a three interfaces tied together with no issues. Masters and slaves are set and Logic, Reason and CoreAudio have no problem with the aggregate.

jord
__________________
Real guitar heroes play real guitars!!

Jordan%20L.%20Chilcott
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old June 26th, 2012, 12:20 PM
pounce's Avatar
pounce pounce is offline
Buster
Lonely forest ranger
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bexley, OH
Posts: 2,235
Rep Power: 536871080
pounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these parts
Send a message via Skype™ to pounce
Default Re: Logic input crackles

My 5 interfaces are hung off of two FireWire cards because MH recommends no more than 3 interfaces per FireWire bus due to bandwidth. I think that creating the aggregate utilizing interfaces on FireWire cards is an issue and I have no alternative that I know of.
__________________
cheers,

paul
www.paperstreetaudio.com
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old July 14th, 2012, 01:52 AM
pounce's Avatar
pounce pounce is offline
Buster
Lonely forest ranger
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bexley, OH
Posts: 2,235
Rep Power: 536871080
pounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these partspounce is infamous around these parts
Send a message via Skype™ to pounce
Default Re: Logic input crackles

got a new version of the driver for the MIO interfaces today from the manufacturer and suddenly everything is working great.
__________________
cheers,

paul
www.paperstreetaudio.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:41 PM.

2005-2012 Mixerman Multimedia. All Rights Reserved.
Site Design by M Media